This Mornings Harvest

Avocados grow in spades in this area and lucky me, one sits in my neighbors yard. If you have never grown up with an avocado tree you have no idea how much fruit it produces. In a good year a mature tree may produce 2-3 full brown paper grocery bags (think Trader Joe’s) a week. That’s right, 2-3 of those bags a WEEK. You and all of your neighbors have so many avocados that you can’t find anyone around happy to take them off your hands. One could sell them to markets or even restaurants but honestly, everybody has avocados. 
Just as upstate New Yorkers have apples, Californians are blessed with the lovely avocado.
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “This Mornings Harvest

  1. AGH! FRESH AVOCADO!!!! SO JEALOUS!!! Every time we visit our relatives in Northern California, we eat as many avocados as we can. Hope you have fun playing around with these! I've learned they're great in baked goods (check out the avocado carrot cake cupcakes on my site if you're interested). 🙂

  2. Wonderful! I love avocados, and I'm jealous of your ample supply. I look forward to reading more of your veggie inspired posts and recipes. Thank you for sharing!http://anecdotesandapples.weebly.com

  3. They're in season here in Paris, too. Today I'm making a Mediterranean couscous, with chickpeas, sundried tomatoes, grilled zuchinni and red peppers and… avocados, bien sur!

  4. how wonderful! my neighbor has a gigantic lemon tree that overhangs my yard 🙂

Leave a Reply

