Heirloom Tomato Tart



Heirloom Tomato Tart on phyllo with goat cheese, white truffle oil, basil & baby arugula.
I can’t praise home grown tomatoes enough and with this quick put together you can satisfy your mid afternoon snack cravings. I had intended on using puff pastry but alas the nearest market only had phyllo dough and I was limited on time and mode of transportation so phyllo was the stand in. I love working with phyllo but I wasn’t in the mood to dress each layer with butter, so I winged it by just brushing white truffle oil over the topmost layer before constructing the tart. I put it together directly on a lightly oiled baking sheet.
Today’s garden selection included the stupice, black from tula & the prudence purple tomatoes. I also clipped a bit of basil and baby rocket arugula (I waited to garnish after baking, but I don’t see why you couldn’t bake it all together). The tomato’s were simply sliced and the greens delicately cleaned with a damp cloth. Into the oven at 350 F, for about 20-22 minutes.
The result….
Not buttering each layer produced the most light and crispy texture to this tart, the salt crusted on the edge making it irresistible, leaving nothing behind. A great summer brunch idea or serve on a hot day as we’ve had here in Santa Barbara. 
      
            
16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Heirloom Tomato Tart

  1. This is a stunning tart, and I am right there with you on fresh home grown tomatoes. These are some gems:)

  2. That looks delicious. Those tomatoes look absolutely beautiful. WOW!

  3. Yummy!! I want some now!! Thanks for sharing.

  4. very pretty, love heirloom tomatoes!

  5. thanks everyone, I truly hope you all can enjoy some of this summer's bounty. I highly recommend growing or buying one truly gnarly looking, crazy colored heirloom tomato, if only to sprinkle with salt or drizzle with olive oil…it always amazes that one can actually taste sunshine in these tomatos. really, that's the only way I can explain it.happy eating!

  6. Your tomatoes look gorgeous. Ours are still a week or two away from harvest, unfortunately… can't wait! Great tart, too. The phyllo dough sounds like a nice, crisp alternative to the usual puff pastry.

  7. Those tomatoes are beautiful and so is your tart!

  8. Your tart is a work of art. I love the idea of truffle oil instead of butter too. What an added dimension of flavor that would add.

  9. Wow! Your tart looks amazing!

  10. super easy too! especially by cutting out the buttering each layer (delicious but time consuming) this tart took me less than 5 minutes to put together and about 25 min in the oven.

  11. Looks delicious! And those tomatoes are gorgeous!

  12. Wow that looks amazing. I think this weekend I'm going to make a trip out to the farm stand!

  13. Oh my goodness this looks so fresh and amazing!

  14. Beautiful! I wish I had some now 🙂

Leave a Reply

