Panko Fried Garden Squash

Panko fried summer garden squash.

The second of my accidental squash, the name tag stated it was kabocha squash but obviously it is not. Kabocha has a green rind with yellowish streaks and a mild orange flesh.
Regardless, there is always a place in my heart for any kind of squash and I love frying it. Peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch peices, I then used a SBP (Standard Breading Procedure: flour, egg, breadcrumb) with 3/4 panko and 1/4 herbed bread crumbs.
I did change the oil after every two batches since the panko tends to flake off and burn, sticking itself to the beautifully golden fried squash.
Sprinkled with salt and served on paper towels, this is why fried food rules. The squash was firm but after a couple of minutes of flash frying the texture softened beautifully but never became limp, I’m guessing the thickness of the cut plays a big part in keeping the integrity of the dish.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Panko Fried Garden Squash

  1. Wow…that is a tower I could jump right on:) Sounds wonderful…

  2. One of my all time favorites is deep fried zucchini. Love the tower!

  3. What a great combination! I've just discovered panko breadcrumbs and have totally fallen in love with them.

  4. Your just killing me this week, I want a garden now πŸ™‚

  5. Fantastic. Going to try this this week…love panko.

  6. that certainly is not kabocha… but I love the idea of frying in panko. There's a box of panko in the cupboard with no plans, so thanks for the inspiration! That looks so delicious

  7. Boy, I'm just about up to my nostrils from eating squash, but this could get me to fix one more dish of it. Looks fantastic.

  8. Now that is a picture worthy of the Top 9… I hope Foodbuzz saw that!! Very cool… I have some squash; I'll have to try it!

  9. I wish that tower was sitting in front of me right now! I've been on a huge squash kick lately. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment