Stuffed Squash Blossoms

Stuffed with a mixture of 2 oz goat cheese, 1 oz Israeli Feta and about 2/3 C squash (saute with garlic). Picked the blossoms off the vine this afternoon, cleaned them of critters and removed the pistols, then piped the above mixture gently into the blossoms. I was very patient piping them, noticing the delicacy of the flower petal (tears easily) but it takes less than a minute to fill and wrap each one then the tops were twisted like candy wrappers. I made use of my left over bread crumbs from last weeks squash dish and quickly fried them up.
(I kept the stems on these for easy handling in hot oil, they easily were removed before consuming).

just picked blossoms…
  
this little guy is of the same squash I used for the stuffing (now that’s making use of the whole plant!)
9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Stuffed Squash Blossoms

  1. I have never had these before but the ingredients and description are making me hungry. The pictures don't help either!Jason

  2. Very nice! Thanks for the delicious simple recipe, I have a few squash blossoms with critters in my garden right now!

  3. I have a friend who lived in Oaxaca for a summer. He said the cook that prepared the meals used to call these "mice" because the stuffed part looked like their bodies and the stems looked like their tails. They were absolutely delicious! also fun to eat, like eating jalepeno poppers.

  4. Pam

    It looks great! I've been seeing these a lot lately and must try it. I'm new here and glad I found you as I will definitely be making the panko fried garden squash below. It looks delicious and thank you for the recipe! Great blog!

  5. Yum! Squash is one of my favorite veggies, but I've yet to try the blossoms.

  6. Wow, that's beautiful. I haven't tried the blossoms, but since I count on friends for garden produce (I live surrounded by trees), I don't think I can ask them to terminate their squash growing so I can have the flowers. šŸ™‚

  7. @ The Mom Chef…there are actually two types of blossoms on the vine, those that will bear fruit and others that just attract pollinators (use these). you can tell which ones you can safely clip by their super long stems. The blossoms that are on short, squat stems and closer to the vine will produce fruit.;)

  8. I tried making my first ever stuffed zucchini flowers a couple of weeks ago and they were fabulous!I stuffed mine with a ricotta cheese mix. Yours look fab too.

Leave a Reply

