"Ugly" Blueberry pie with cream

mmmm, pie. summer in a bowl.
  I just couldn’t pass up the two quart boxes of blueberries at the produce stand this week, each one begging me to take them home and make jams, chutneys, pies, reductions for game meats (the possibilities are endless!). So I grabbed one box with the promise to myself that I would go back if the first batch actually got used. Usually I have grand plans and stock up with massive amounts of an ingredient in hopes of “batching” out preserves like I’m the Smucker’s factory. Then the week starts over,  work beckons, and by the week’s end all I have is a rotting basket of unused fruit. I’m learning.
The weekend was blissfully perfect here in Santa Barbara, so with the windows and doors flown open, the house got cleaned and when the house is clean I get a hankering for some baking. Pie is a very simple thing to throw together. I could have use my recipe for pate brisee, but I had a list of recipes to power through, so I opted for frozen Trader Joe’s pie crust. 
Well, in the thick mess that was my plan yesterday, I forgot to fill the pie shells with navy beans to hold the crust in place while baking. What I ended up with hideously ugly, shrunken mess of deliciously golden crust. Who am I to throw it out, we had gotten this far and I was already making sure the cream was thoroughly chilled so to be perfect on gooey, warm blueberry pie.
Recipe is your standard pie filling recipe, 2 of everything…2Qt blueberry, 2T butter, 2T cornstarch, 2T flour and a 1/2C of sugar. Poured into the prebaked pie shell and then topped with a second uncooked pie shell, it’s placed in an 400 oven for about 25 minutes. Once done, the oven is turned off and left the pie in there for an additional 10-15 minutes.

      

As you can see, quite ugly, but nevertheless, delicious.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “"Ugly" Blueberry pie with cream

  1. Even if the crust didn't turn out as planned, I'll bet this still tasted fantastic!

  2. It seems we are many food bloggers complaining of ugly pies or tarts in these days….it still looks very yummy to me!

  3. I don't know how many times I have gone to prebake a pie crust and forgotten to put something inside the shell. They always come out good, just not a photo-worthy.Love blurberries, just coming into season in NH now.Jason

  4. It's cute in it's own way. As long as it tastes good, who cares what it looks like. And I'm like you, blueberries are so hard to resist.

  5. All I can think about this is how delicious it looks 🙂

  6. You're too harsh, I would love a slice of that just when it's cooled some but not chilled right from the oven with some custard over. I would want to eat it whilst sitting in my favourite chair and whilst I'm alone and looking through the window listening to and thinking about the song "What a wonderful world" .More please!

  7. ugly is beautiful and WAY more interesting! it looks fantastic… wish I had a piece 🙂 Great job!

  8. An imperfect looking blueberry pie still looks good to me. Yummm!

  9. it was lovely! i'm finishing up the last of it right now with an icy cold glass of milk. a must make even if you can't bake like me!

  10. Perfect crust or no perfect crust, this looks very, very yummy!

Leave a Reply

