Stuffed Skirt Steak

Skirt Steak stuffed with garlic, pine nuts, goat cheese, arugula and parm. 

One of my favorite cuts of meat is the skirt steak, also known simply as flap meat, this cut is the highly marbled diaphram muscle. Usually you can spot a skirt steak by it’s long narrow cut, up to a foot long and 2-3 inches wide. The large muscle fibers run across the width of the cut and it’s rarely over an inch thick. It almost feels like like you’re holding a rack of ribs without the ribs, it also “flaps” around.
I like it because it’s one of the most tender, flavorful cuts of meat and it’s inexpensive. Simply marinating it with lots of garlic, herbs and olive oil and then throwing it on the grill of a cast iron skillet is delicious. But in this case I pounded out the steak so I could stuff it, roll it then roast it! 
After a thoroughly bludgeoning my prized piece of protein it was ready for the layers of flavor I was about to pile on. Don’t forget to salt the meat before layering the first of ingredients.
Garlic.
Goat cheese and pine nuts.
Arugula.
Parmesan.
Roll it.
Tie & Roast.
I pan seared the little roasts before putting them in an 400 degree oven for about 10-12 minutes. I like my meat on the rare side, so you may want to keep them in the oven for another 7-8 minutes if you’re not a fan of the pink. Once finished they were wrapped in foil until the potatoes were done roasting.
You can serve it as a whole roast on a plate (awesome individual roasts!) with a side of garden onions and roasted fingerling potatoes. 
And let’s not forget that side dish…
Those are hand picked onions from the garden and some fingerling potatoes I picked up from the produce stand. Drizzled simply with olive oil and salt, I threw them in that 400 degree oven for about 35 minutes. You can roast your meat on top of the potatoes for the first 10 minutes to save time. While the potatoes are finishing up, make a cool refreshing salad of romaine, cherry tomatoes, marinated onions and blue cheese. A perfect meat & potatoes meal!
10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Stuffed Skirt Steak

  1. I see you have cooked two "Rind Rouladen" as they would say in Germany, if one of those is going spare then I'll invite myself round to your place. The Galloping Gourmet would invite someone from his audience at this stage to share that meal! Do you remember him? I suspect you are too young.Bon appetite!

  2. I don't have much experience with cooking different types of meats, but this looks easy! And delicious. I'm game for just about anything that includes goat cheese 🙂 About the bludgeoning – what tool did you use, and for how long did you pound? Thanks!

  3. We also love skirt steak. Your recipe looks amazing. Thanks for posting!

  4. What a wondeful recipe. We don't cook beef often, but this looks like a nice way for a next time.Thank YouJason

  5. These looks great. We love to eat beef. The potatoes and the onion from your garden are lovely. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.

  6. This was another one where I looked at those two steaks in the pan and said "ooooh." That means I'll have to make it. I agree that meat that's more rare is better. Thanks for sharing your creation. It's wonderful.

  7. Yum! This looks really great! That stuffing looks deeelicious. 😀

  8. Those look beautiful and I'll bet they tasted equally wonderful!!! We have trouble finding skirt steak so I think I'll try them with some flank steak… Kateiscooking

  9. I can get skirt steak quite easily here in San Antonio, so might have to give this one a go! Looks so good!!

  10. That looks so good! The stuffing is all of my favorite flavors!

Leave a Reply

