unnamed fruit

        These small fruits are dropping off my first fruit tree, the only problem is I don’t what they are. They start off smooth white orbs then slowly develop purple stripes. Grown in clusters, these fruits get heavy quick forcing me to tie them to supports or else the branches drop to the ground.
        All I recall from the now missing name tag was that the flesh has the flavor of melon and cucumber crossed and that the skins are not edible. Well that certainly is the case, except the fruit has a lingering “earthy” aftertaste, shall I just say….dirt. Yes, funky dirt. It’s not unpleasant, just interesting. I sprinkle some salt on the wedges and just eat them fresh. But soon dreams of cocktails came to my head and this fruit would be perfect with gin, a Hendricks martini or accompanied with St. Germaine elderflower liquor. If enough can be harvested to puree this afternoon, I may take it into work and experiment.
        The fall harvest will be happening within the next 6 week and many changes will be taking place. Once I get back to the folks at La Sumida nursery, I’ll take them a fruit and finally put an end to this mystery.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “unnamed fruit

  1. Wonderful blog; good luck on figuring out the fruit!

  2. I have never had one, but I think they might be a pepino. Google pepino images and see if you agree.

  3. I haven't seen this before, but I am always a fan of fruits in cocktails!

  4. It almost looks like a cross between a gooseberry and a plum, maybe it's the result of their romantic rendezvous? Regardless, your cocktails sound divine!Gree

  5. It'll be fun to see what recipes you come up with to use your mystery fruit!

  6. It does look like a pepino. I had a pepino in Peru (one of the coutries where it is found).

  7. Hmmm…interesting. You will post about your cocktail experimentation, yes?

  8. Well, I'm no horticultural expert, L, but I think you have a pepino plant. I've never eaten a pepino, but I have a feeling you're not really in for a "taste sensation" of any note.

  9. Good luck. Sometimes it's fun working with a new food, eh? It's really exotic looking if nothing else. Too bad the skin isn't edible because it would make such a cool dish with it if it was. 🙂

  10. Looks so good! You should post it up on the fruit growers section of CookMyWay.www.cookmyway.com.au

  11. I'm not sure but could it be a variety of Pluot? It would be a hybrid mix of plum and apricot.

  12. They are pepino. I bought some at the store not too long ago and had great expectations. They taste like a melon without flavor, kinda earthy. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

